HANOI – The European Union will begin negotiations this week on an investment pact with Burma, the EU`s top trade representative said on Monday, an agreement to give European companies preferential access to one of Asia`s last border markets. Burma, an underdeveloped country that was blocked until 2012 due to trade sanctions against Western companies, […] The ASEAN Comprehensive Investment Agreement (CFIA) came into force on 29 March 2012 and was signed by ten ASEAN member states. Its objective is to support a free, open, transparent and integrated investment regime in the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) region, in line with the goal of an ASEAN economic community by 2015. The aim is also to promote increased investment within ASEAN and to improve ASEAN`s competitiveness in attracting foreign investment to ASEAN, in order to achieve economic integration within the framework of the AEC, in accordance with the AEC-Blueprint. The United States and Burma regularly engage under the 2013 Framework Agreement on Trade and Investment (TIFA), which has created a platform for ongoing dialogue between the two governments on trade and investment issues. Under TIFA, the two governments are working together to identify initiatives that support Burma`s ongoing reform process and related development activities. In November 2016, the United States deemed Burma to be preferred under the system of generalized preferences. It describes the bilateral and multilateral trade agreements to which that country belongs, including with the United States. Includes websites and other resources that allow U.S. companies to get more information about how they can use these agreements. Automakers see great opportunities to export cars to ASEAN, as tariffs will be reduced to zero from 2018 as part of the ASEAN Free Trade Agreement. However, to qualify for the zero per cent tariff, Vietnamese products must have a minimum lolocation rate of 40%.

Truong Hai Automobile has […] As an ASEAN member, Myanmar participates in all intra-ASEAN agreements as well as multilateral free trade agreements with Australia, New Zealand, China, India, Japan and South Korea. The ASEAN Free Trade Area (AFTA) was established in 1998 in Myanmar with the aim of eliminating tariffs on all customs lines by 2018. The Free Trade Agreements (FTAs) have been signed with China, Hong Kong, Japan, Korea, India, Australia and New Zealand. Myanmar has bilateral trade agreements with Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, China, South Korea, Laos, Malaysia, India, the Philippines, Thailand and Vietnam in the Asian region, as well as with a number of Eastern European countries.

© 2013 Lichtlabor-Berlin | wir bringen Licht ins Spiel